Mental Health Crisis Help

Community Mental Health offers walk in or call crisis 24 Hours a Day (Walk-in services are for those in immediate crisis and cannot wait for an appointment). Contact Us to get directions to the CMH Building. Crisis services provides crisis intervention, assessment, and screening for voluntary and involuntary psychiatric hospitalization.
Toll Free: 800.372.8460
Local: 517.346.8460
TTY: 517.267.7623
Mental Health Crisis


The Community Mental Health Board of Clinton-Eaton-Ingham Counties (CMHB) was formed in 1964, initially as a federally funded community mental health center, serving Lansing.

The organization moved towards its current legal structure, when the Community Mental Health Board of Clinton-Eaton-Ingham Counties was created, under the authority of Public Act 54 and the Urban Cooperation Act. PA 54 was superseded in 1974 when the Michigan legislature enacted Public Act 258, the new Michigan Mental Health Code. This state legislation transferred greater levels of responsibility for mental health services from state to local government. The Mental Health Code, the law which governs all state and local mental health programs in Michigan, was most recently revised in late 1995 (and is continually revised) and has moved even more responsibility from the state to the local level.

Starting in the 1970s, the major theme that drove Michigan’s CMH system was de-institutionalization – allowing persons who formerly lived in state hospitals and DD centers, to live in the community. This theme provided the impetus for the transfer of thousands of Michigan residents from treatment in state facilities to treatment in their home communities, by the CMH system.

Read more: History

Privacy Notice

icon Notice of Privacy Practices 

This notice describes how protected health information about you may be used and disclosed and how you can get access to this information.  Ensuring the privacy of our consumer's protected information is a top priority at CMHA-CEI.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact our Privacy Officer, Stefanie Zin at (517) 346-8193.

Clinical Philosophy

To provide the core principles on which the clinical philosophy of Community Mental Health Authority of Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties (CMHA-CEI) is based. These principles apply to the services and supports directly provided by CMHA-CEI as well as those purchased by CMHA-CEI. Although CMHA-CEI will strive to serve persons with a broad range of mental health and substance abuse needs, the organization has a primary commitment (as per statutory guidance provided by the Michigan Mental Health Code) to persons with serious and persistent mental illness or an impairing personal life crisis, children who are seriously emotionally disturbed, and persons with significant developmental disabilities.


icon CMHA-CEI Vision and Mission

The Community Mental Health Authority of Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties holds this vision of a community:

  • A community in which any person with a mental health need has access to a wide range of resources to allow him or her to seek his or her desired quality of life and to participate, with dignity, in the life of the community, with its freedoms and responsibilities.
  • A community defined by justice for persons with mental health needs.


CMHA-CEI's mission is to fulfill two complementary but distinct roles in realizing this vision:

Behavioral healthcare provider – Providing, directly and through partnerships, a comprehensive set of person-centered, high quality, and effective behavioral health and developmental disability services to the residents of this community.

Advocate, catalyst, thought leader, and convener – Fostering the transformation of all aspects of community life, eliminating inequities, and promoting the common good for all, especially for persons with mental health needs.

Organizational Structure Description

CMHA-CEI is a public governmental body, formed by the County Commissions of Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties, with a 12 member board of directors appointed by the County Commissions of all three counties. There are currently seven representatives of Ingham County, three representatives of Eaton County, and two representatives of Clinton County on the Board.

The Executive Director of CMHA-CEI reports to the Board of Directors. Upper Management reports to the Executive Director. The organization has over 900 employees and serves approximately 10,000 lives over Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties.

2016 2017OrgChart

^ Back to Top